"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Herbs and Spices

Old 03-16-2008, 07:53 PM   #1
Cook

Various types of salt...

I've heard things like "there's no point in using sea salt to cook with, since it loses any effect" and other things about which salt to use. So I'm wondering when to use:

Table salt
Kosher salt (assuming it's different?)
Rock Salt
Coarse Salt
sea salt
Fleur de Sel

Any ideas?

Old 03-19-2008, 05:07 PM   #2
Head Chef

I'm not an expert on salt by any means, but Table Salt usually has iodine added and is designed to flow freely and I believe is mined from underground. Sea Salt comes from the sea and is a much coarser and does not flow very well. It has different flavors of sorts depending on where it is acquired. Kosher Salt is "kosher" (no added ingredients etc) and is also a coarse salt with a little better pouring ability than Sea Salt. Rock Salt is used for softening water and making ice cream. I'm not sure exactly what Fleur de Sel is since it hasn't crossed my recipes yet. There is also a Canning or Pickling Salt which is very fine grain and no impurities so that pickling brine stays clear.

Hope this helps.

Old 03-19-2008, 06:05 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by crono760 View Post
I've heard things like "there's no point in using sea salt to cook with, since it loses any effect" and other things about which salt to use. So I'm wondering when to use:

Table salt
Kosher salt (assuming it's different?)
Rock Salt
Coarse Salt
sea salt
Fleur de Sel

Any ideas?
Table salt has additives and is a fairly fine grain. Use it in any cooking or baking recipe.