What are whole spices?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheProphecy

Assistant Cook
I tried googling what they were, but no helpful results. I'm really new to cooking and i don't know many terms, so if you can answer this, that'd be great :D

Whole spices are spices in their natural form before they are ground up. Cinnamon grows naturally in a stick form but you generally buy it ground for use in foods. Nutmeg comes in the form of a hard seed, again, most people buy it ground.

Whole cloves vs. ground cloves and whole cardamon vs. ground cardamon are other examples.

Some recipes call for whole spices, most call for ground up or crushed spices.

As a general rule, whole spices are fresher and have more flavor than the ground or crushed versions, and it's probably better to grind your own if you can.

However, most people buy a lot of their spices and herbs in ground form for convenience and because many (if not most) recipes call for the spices to be added in that form.

so if i have a pestle & mortar, and i use whole cinnamon with it, then it becomes ground cinnamon - but it's still the same, except it's crushed?

so if i have a pestle & mortar, and i use whole cinnamon with it, then it becomes ground cinnamon - but it's still the same, except it's crushed?
Yes, although it's hard to grind cinnamon and most other hard spices in a mortar and get it as fine as the stuff that comes in jars pre-ground. That doesn't matter much in most recipes, although I suspect that most people wouldn't want to put cinnamon ground in a mortar on their morning toast. If you do need a finer grind, you can get an electric grinder.