What Spices Do You Hate?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WhateverYouWant

Sous Chef
Last Summer a client sent me a case of Maui Gold pineapples. I love pineapple, and these were top notch. But after a few of them I was looking for some ways to "use them up". I spied a recipe online for a cast iron skillet pineapple upside down cake which looked good.

In fact it would have been GREAT, except for the damned CARDAMOM! Now I have never used it before, and at over $10 for a small jar I was hesitant, but this recipe was from a trusted source and I have never run into a single spice that would ruin an entire recipe... that is until I found CARDAMOM.

It now just sits in my spice drawer (full jar), and when someone mentioned this nasty substance this morning, I went back for a taste. Yup... feelings are still the same, and it will be pitched in the next recycle pick up.

So if anyone wants it, DM me with your mailing address, and if you paypal me the cost of shipping (I'm located in California), I'll send it to you.

So have you come across a spice you absolutely hate and would never use in anything? Let us all know below.

When I was younger, there wasn't a spice or herb that I disliked. In fact, I found great fun and delight in finding recipes that used a lot of both. But............since I have aged (a little lol) I find that there are certain things that I can't stand anymore. A few things are Rosemary, Mint, Tarragon.

Scott, what form was the cardamom in? Was it pods, just the seeds, already ground? I really like cardamom. I buy the pods and grind it in a mortar and pestle right before using it. I also have some recipes that call for putting in the whole pods and removing them later.