"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Culinary Gardener

Old 03-01-2016, 06:19 AM   #1
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

Composting Help

I want to start composting, what can/should I use from the household? Any help in building a compost bin is greatly appreciated. I've never done this before...

Old 03-01-2016, 06:33 AM   #2
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

I have some plastic buckets with lids from cat litter, can I make this into a bin for the kitchen, how do I do it?

Old 03-01-2016, 08:34 AM   #3
Senior Cook

there are many of the bins online depending on what you want to use the compost for and how much you will have. I just bury my scrapes in the garden with a small shovel.
Old 03-01-2016, 08:49 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

You can use any vegetable kitchen scraps in compost. Don't use meat or eggshells; they will attract rodents. Depending on how big your yard is, you can just make a pile and turn it every few months.

DH built a two-part composter with wood surrounded by chicken wire to keep the stuff in. There's an opening at the bottom for removing the finished compost. It needs to be sort of open, so microbes and worms can get in there and break down the material into humus, so I don't think a bucket would work very well.

Here's more information: https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/HORT/HORT-49/HORT-49-PDF.pdf
Old 03-01-2016, 09:37 AM   #5
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Home Cook View Post
there are many of the bins online depending on what you want to use the compost for and how much you will have. I just bury my scrapes in the garden with a small shovel.
I agree, I would just scatter the items over the area where your garden will be located or if you really want a designated place then a small square defined by some boards or cinder blocks will create a small compost pit.