"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Culinary Gardener

Old 03-16-2010, 12:17 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Depths for Raised Bed Veggie Gardens

is there a Max or Min depth for raised veggie beds?

i realize that certain veggies will have deeper root systems but i was wondering if anyone had information to how deep you need to make your bed...

and a premature Thank You to all that answer...i am an extreme newbie to the gardening life and really am thankful for all the nice people on this site :)

Old 03-16-2010, 12:21 AM   #2
Assistant Cook

Hi Steve

I have had good success with raised beds...usually make them 18 inches deep depending on what is going in. My husband put a shallow ledge around the edge so makes for easy weeding etc. I add organic matter every year and turn them well at the end of the season. I have everything from root veggies to herbs and vine plants. Good luck with that!

Old 03-16-2010, 05:51 AM   #3
Master Chef

Site Moderator

Mine vary from 8 -12 inches and I grow all the standards from tomatoes and peppers to beets and carrots with no problem.

I built two into the slope of the hill in my back yard and those are 12 inches on one side and 36" on the other. I plant my potatoes in these.

I add compost and manure yearly to the beds and rotate what I plant in the beds.
Old 03-16-2010, 11:55 AM   #4
Master Chef

It depends on the type of the soil you will have undernise (how do you spell that?).
I have clay and have to raise it higher. Or you can dig the soil out and fill in with good black dirt + fertilizer of your choice.
Old 03-16-2010, 07:02 PM   #5
Assistant Cook

thanks for the replies :)
as far as original soil, i would say it is just basic soil, not rocky or full of clay.
Chances are i will be using 1x8 untreated pine wood unless someone pops in and highly recommends not using that type of wood.