SFG (Square Foot Gardening)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sattie

Washing Up
Ok, this is what I am considering for me and DH. I have only started to garden this past year and had mixed results. What do you seasoned gardners think about this and what other alternatives do I have? Since there is only two of us, I don't want to get to carried away. I'm thinking tomatos, squash, peppers, I would love to grow garlic, but think that is out of my reach at this point. Has anyone used this system? Do you fill it with different kinds of dirt depending on what you want to grow? I am by no means an expert, so I could use all the help I can get!

no experience with sfg, but from what i have read, it's a great idea. I would have reservations on growing squash that way, where would the plant grow to? I think sfg would be better for better controlled veggies,( ones that do not stray). Peppers would be excellent, tomatoes may spread too much?? In my experience, garlic is one of the easiest vegetables to grow. BUT you plant it in October/November and harvest in July, in the midwest.

Keep reading about sfg and ask more questions

Funny you should bring up Mel & his square-foot-gardening system. My brother worked for his son Jeff years ago in the landscaping business.

Actually, "square-foot-gardening" is nothing more than a hybrid of using raised beds & what was originally called "French Intensive Gardening" techniques.

I garden in a similar fashion for certain vegetables, but don't use wooden sides for my raised beds. I just heap up the soil & compost in whatever size/configuration I want. Any/all vegetables can be grown in raised beds, & all the "French Intensive" system means is that you grow your veggies closer together to shade out the weeds. Thinnings of appropriate vegetables are used as they become large enough to be usable, thus granting more space for what's left.