Beef/Lamb question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nekom

Assistant Cook
I'm very new to the cooking world, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. My wife makes a great beef stew with a tomato-based sauce. When she puts it in a slow-cooker, she doesn't pre-cook the meat, it just cooks right in there. If I were to add lamb along with the beef, could I expect it to cook in about the same manner, or should it be browned first? Any other possible issues or compelling reasons not to add lamb? Any advice is appreciated.

You can add the lamb as you did the beef and they will cook together. No issues.

In general, I prefer to brown any meat before it goes into a stew for the added flavor. It's not necessary, just preferred.

I agree with Andy on all accounts. With lamb especially I like it browned. There is nothing wrong with putting in in without browning first and you will have no issues doing that with your stew, but if it were me I would brown it first for the great flavor that gives it.

So I'm good to go without browning, that's good to know. But I might be missing out on some extra flavor? What's the best way to brown beef/lamb? I've seen stew recipes for coating them in flour and cooking them in butter, shortening or oil.

Last time around I cut up the meat, put it in a sealed container with flour and tossed it, then browned in EVOO garlic and onions. After I put the meat in the slow cooker, I deglazed the pan then added that to the stew.
Was that overkill you think? After tasting the stew I was not sure it added that much to it over just browning the meat first.
Also, in the past I have marinated the beef in beef stock with onions, garlic, liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce. Then put all that into the slow cooker with all my other ingredients and went that way. That turned out very flavorful as well!