Can you help me with dinner tonight?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SassyNewHomemaker

Assistant Cook
So i am kinda new to cooking per say and i dont know what to do with this meat other than putting it in the crock and doing like a roast or beef stew. I have what i believe is called a chuck roast? (a big hunk of tough meat) i do plan on cutting it into smaller peices and slow cooking it for like 6/7 hrs. what im wondering is after i take the meat out of the crock(or could i do it in it) can i make like a goulash? add my sauce and noodles? and when? i need specifics, i know its kinda silly but i really am unsure of what to do.:ermm:

Hi, Sassy. Welcome to DC.

One of the things my family likes me to do with a piece of chuck is to roast it in foil.

Leave the roast whole and place it on two large pieces of heavy-duty foil. Make sure the foil is big enough to fold up and cover the roast like a packet. Spread a can of cream of mushroom soup on top and sprinkle about 1/2 a package of dry onion soup mix over. If you want, you can add a 4-ounce can of mushroom stems and pieces, drained, to the top. We love mushrooms in our house so I usually add them.

Seal up the foil nice and tight and place the packet into a shallow baking dish. Pour about 1/4 to 1/2 inch of water in the dish and bake the roast for at least 1 1/2 hours in a preheated 350F oven.

You will end up with a tender roast and tons of yummy gravy. Serve with mashed potatoes, green beans and dessert of your choice.