Pan broiling ground beef/bison; it never fully cooks!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Holdthescroll

Assistant Cook
I've been trying my best to cook beef/bison on my skillet over a stove-top, but the meat never seems to entirely cook. I'm afraid that if I don't learn how to cook these meats properly, I'll end up with e-coli one of these days. Here's what I'm doing:

1) Put 1 lb of ground beef/bison on skillet
2) Turn stovetop to medium heat
3) Try my best to make the meat as cooked as possible

I always end up with pink spots in the middle of the meat. Is there anything I can do to cook these meats better? (also, I just bought ground turkey and plan on using the same cooking method)

I'm new to cooking, so don't judge ... lol.

That's not "pan broiling." That's pan frying or sauteeing.

But really the only thing you have to do is cook it for a longer amount of time.

I suggest you turn the heat on to medium or medium high, sprinkle some salt in the skillet, dump the meat in, and cook it, breaking it up with a wooden spoon as it cooks.

Are you trying to make patties or just crumbled ground meat? If it’s crumbled ground meat, just stick with medium high heat, and stir it often as if you’re stir frying. Keep an eye on the biggest piece as your doing this, and when you think it’s done, break the biggest piece open with your spatula and check for pink. If there is no pink, drain it, otherwise, keep cooking.