"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Budget Friendly Dishes

Old 09-29-2014, 12:54 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Good bulk foods to make publicly available in dorm?

Hey guys, I'm an extremely amateur cook and I live in a dormitory at Auburn University in Alabama, USA. We have a meal plan - means that we're pretty much forced to eat at various (unhealthy) fast food joints on campus at least some of the time. But I recently reorganized the dorm's little rinkydink do-it-yourself kitchen and have been trying to encourage people to cook for themselves - even if it's just Ramen.

One thing I've done is set aside a cupboard for "FREE FOOD - DON'T HOG". And I have put publicly available items, which I've paid for myself, usually, in the kitchen (usually in this cupboard, marked with Sharpie otherwise). Current fr33 f00d:
  • Ramen
  • Kraft mac and cheese
  • Salt
  • Margarine (in fridge)
  • Tang (orange juice imitation powder)
  • Sugar
  • Mashed potato mix
  • Eggs (experimental - may take back offer if too expensive)

What would be some more good, cheap, useful, basic things to put in the kitchen, that a college kid could use, that I could buy in bulk, and that wouldn't go bad very quickly? Note that we have a fridge but space is VERY limited.

Old 09-29-2014, 08:15 AM   #2
Executive Chef

Large containers of peanut butter. Don't forget the crackers.

Old 09-29-2014, 08:20 AM   #3
Master Chef

Kudos to you but none of that is healthy food so I'm not sure what you are aiming at here. Why not just eat off the meal plan which is already paid for?

Or is this late night munchie stuff?
Old 09-29-2014, 08:33 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire