"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Budget Friendly Dishes

Old 08-31-2012, 01:34 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Roast dinners

I'm on a strict budget of late, and have found that bitty stand alone dinners seem to cost more... with their ingredients much more than a hearty oast dinner.

Ie... a pizza I find is more expensive to make - and I dont mean just a cheese and tom pizza... a few more ingredeints are included in the toppings... more expensive than a chickenlleg of lamb/pork shoulder/silverside stuffed and roasted with potatoes and a veg. I can have left over s for a day or so after, and use the bones for stock. Where as the pizzas are pretty much eat on the day.

so has anyone else found this to be true?

Old 08-31-2012, 06:21 AM   #2
Master Chef

I understand what you are saying. I found that to be true until I started practicing what Dorothy Parker called foodsmanship. Now I try to think ahead about making things like pizza and save small amounts of leftovers in my freezer or refrigerator with that in mind. Things like a cup of tomato sauce, leftover sausage meat, a part of a pepper or an onion etc... Every week or so I put all of those odds and ends together and make a casserole or a pizza. Now I tend to think of things like soup, quiche, pizza, or a casserole as almost free meals. The more I have learned about food and cooking the easier and tastier it has become.

Old 08-31-2012, 11:48 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire