"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Chicken, Turkey & other Fowl

Old 05-16-2008, 03:35 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Chicken cutlet. How to season?

One of my favorite bars cooks this chicken sandwich on a bread roll. It's a grilled chicken fillet on a roll with mozarella cheese and bacon. My question is: What seasoning do I use on the chicken? I'm a newbie (obviously).

Old 05-16-2008, 03:40 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

Oh ! Also, what's a simple but good recipe for mashed potatoes. The bar always serves the chicken sandwich with mashed potatoes and it's really good.

Old 05-16-2008, 03:42 PM   #3
Master Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to Barb L.
I always use s&p and garlic powder -yum, one of my favorites.
Old 05-16-2008, 03:44 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

Thanks Barbara, I will try it. I'm really eager to cook my own food, so I don't have to waste so much money buying lunch at work everyday. Do you by any chance know a good mashed potatoes recipe?
Old 05-16-2008, 04:05 PM   #5
Head Chef

Seasoned salt is usually nice. I have come to enjoy Emerils original spice mix.
Old 05-16-2008, 04:07 PM   #6
Master Chef

Site Moderator

There are lot of fairly good pre-mixed rubs and seasonings out there on the market in the spice aisle. You might what to try some of those. When you find ones you like you can try making your own.

You can also just use S&P and then use different sauces and toppings on the sandwich. Take it from a sometimes brown-bagger - just keep the dressing and the toppings separate and put the sandwich together just before you eat.

lettuce/tomato/mayo
bbq sauce and jack cheese
blue cheese dressing and spinach
sun dried tomoto dressing and mozarella cheese
Old 05-16-2008, 04:14 PM   #7
Certified Pretend Chef