Chicken cutlet. How to season?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rcald2000

Assistant Cook
One of my favorite bars cooks this chicken sandwich on a bread roll. It's a grilled chicken fillet on a roll with mozarella cheese and bacon. My question is: What seasoning do I use on the chicken? I'm a newbie (obviously).

Oh ! Also, what's a simple but good recipe for mashed potatoes. The bar always serves the chicken sandwich with mashed potatoes and it's really good.

Thanks Barbara, I will try it. I'm really eager to cook my own food, so I don't have to waste so much money buying lunch at work everyday. Do you by any chance know a good mashed potatoes recipe?

Seasoned salt is usually nice. I have come to enjoy Emerils original spice mix.

There are lot of fairly good pre-mixed rubs and seasonings out there on the market in the spice aisle. You might what to try some of those. When you find ones you like you can try making your own.

You can also just use S&P and then use different sauces and toppings on the sandwich. Take it from a sometimes brown-bagger - just keep the dressing and the toppings separate and put the sandwich together just before you eat.

lettuce/tomato/mayo
bbq sauce and jack cheese
blue cheese dressing and spinach
sun dried tomoto dressing and mozarella cheese

Peel and cut up a russet or Yukon Gold potato(es). Place in a pan and cover with cold water. Add a healthy amount of salt to the water. Bring the water to a boil and continue to boil gently until the potatoes are cooked through. If you stick a knife into the potato, it should go in easliy and come out without a fuss.

Drain the potatoes and mash them using a ricer (my first choice) or potato masher. Add butter, salt, pepper and cream and mix gently with a spoon or fork.