Duck Confit

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FrankZ

Site Team
Staff member
So I took a whole duck and decided to do just the breasts for dinner. Because of that I was left with some leg quarters and other parts. YAY!

I decided to follow a recipe for confit with the quarters.

The legs sat in the salt for about 39 hours and three hours in the oven simmering in the fat. OH GOODNESS! This is awesome. I have never tried duck confit before, but I am officially hooked.

Attachments

• Confit01.jpg
    Confit01.jpg
    109.9 KB · Views: 366
  • Confit02.jpg
    Confit02.jpg
    118 KB · Views: 653
Looks good. I keep looking at duck, but Shrek has been fairly adamant about not liking it. I probably have to wait until he is gone to cook one.

I had a bit of it on hand already from the Thanksgiving duck. When I debreasted this one I took all the skin I ended with, which was a lot, and rendered that.

I didn't have that much, but I had almost enough to submerge the parts. Of course now I am thinking if I got another duck I could add to my reserve, and confit all of it!! :mrgreen:

PF send Shrek out to a movie and make duck.

I had a bit of it on hand already from the Thanksgiving duck. When I debreasted this one I took all the skin I ended with, which was a lot, and rendered that.

I didn't have that much, but I had almost enough to submerge the parts. Of course now I am thinking if I got another duck I could add to my reserve, and confit all of it!! :mrgreen:

PF send Shrek out to a movie and make duck.

Oh...that would be simpler...no body to hide.:angel:

I'm trying to get my head around duck confit. I know I'm going to like this. I still can't quite grasp it...

Why do Asians sell you duck legs and break the bone just above the ankle? I think it's because the tendons won't pull the leg muscles into a clump. Is this right?