Game hens

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aeyla

Assistant Cook
I am looking for the best game hen recipes. I purchased two and I was going to do the Sandra Lee recipe but I would like to see if there are other options. This will be my first time makeing them so I am a bit nervous hehe (yeah I am a newb):ermm:
Your help would be much apreciated...
Jo

If yu have a covered kettle barbecue, that is the absolutely best way to cook the game hens IMHO. If not, I will also give a great oven recipe.

On the Grill:

Place two piles of charcoal on opposite sides of the grill with a four inch space seperating the piles. Light the charcoal. Leave the cooking grate off.

Stuffing: You will need to have two cups total of mixed brown and wild rice pre-cooked, and mixed with saute'd onion and mushrooms. The rice should be cooked in chicken broth for maximum flavor, and seasoned with salt, pepper, and sage to taste.

Remove the giblets and place in a pot of water to simmer. Cover the pot to reduce evaporation. You will thicken this broth after 30 minutes of cooking with a slurry of 1 tbs. corstarch and 1 tbs. water, mixed together until smooth. Add the slurry to the broth after removing the giblets and season with salt, pepper, and thyme to taste.

Dry the birds with a paper towel. Coat the outside with your favorite olive oil and shake salt sparingly over the skin, top, bottom, and sides. Fill the cavities looseely with the dressing. Bind the wings and legs to the bird body with butcher's twine or clean cotton string.

Make a drip pan with heavy-duty aluminum foil, or use a disposable loaf pan. Place the pan between the charcoal piles and fill with one cup of water. Place the cooking grate on the kettle.