"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Chicken, Turkey & other Fowl

Old 11-19-2006, 12:44 PM   #1
Cook

Help! make ahead gravy

I followed a recipe to make turkey gravy using turkey wings. We are taking dinner 'over the river and thru the woods'. I am not good at making gravy w/ a crowd chatting w/ me so I plan on taking 5 cups prepared. I'd have to cork the wine real real early w/ the stress of making gravy w/ no back up. So the 'gravy' I have is weak in flavor, real weak. Rescue me and the gravy, please.

Old 11-19-2006, 01:03 PM   #2
Head Chef

Can you get turkey base to add a touch to it? I use this brand http://superiortouch.com/btb.htm ; a store near you might have it although I have to order it from them online.

Old 11-19-2006, 01:29 PM   #3
Senior Cook

Sometimes when my gravy is a little weak... I add a packet of turkey gravy mix.. ( mixed up in a bit of water first) .. but I always add some poultry seasoning, and some ground sage.. also you can add some chicken boulion to.. that should help a bit. In Ontario they also have this stuff called Bisto.. its kinda like gravy granules.. it adds flavor and thickens to. Anyways.. there is some hints on cheating making home made gravy :)

Good luck!
Old 11-19-2006, 01:32 PM   #4
Cook

I wish there was a turkey gravy mix that did not have MSG. I will check out the link shunka gave me. thanks.

I just checked out the link from Shunka. I have that in chicken and beef. I had no idea they had turkey so will start the search. It is a wonderful product. Thank you.
Old 11-19-2006, 02:10 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Before I make my gravy, I make a stock base out of turkey necks. Here's what I do.

2 lbs. turkey necks, cut into 3-in. sections
2 to 3 cups homemade rich chicken stock
3 Tbsp. canola oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper