Help me find the missing ingredient?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm not a Nutella fan either. I'm a very freestyle amateur chef who thinks nothing of just changing any part of a recipe if I think my way will work better. Now that I have the idea of a crepe cake I can just go from there and use anything I like.

I like to "invent" my own recipes. Usually I'll find a couple dozen versions on the Internet and make notes of the common ingredients and select the differences and features that I like, and I'll end up with my own composite recipe. I cook it and keep tweaking it until it meets my criteria and is the best that I can make it. Then that's the recipe that I add to my collection.

My granddaughter and daughter are both Nutella fans. My g'daughter's birthday is in January and she said she wants my Pineapple Upside Down Cake for her birthday cake. I just might may both. I would seriously consider making alternate layers of something other than Nutella though. I would also reduce some hazelnuts to a small grind and sprinkle on top.

Alas, once again we have gotten off the subject of this post and request. :angel:

Not sumac, not tumeric

This weekend, I made a tumeric drizzle for when I reheated the chicken. That, too, wasn't it. I tried tumeric before saffron because tumeric is so much cheaper.

So, I'm going to have to make chicken again, and then try saffron, and if that's not it, fenugreek.

I could Google "what do I do with the saffron threads..." but who knows what advice I'll get. I'd rather just have you all weigh in. I saw the threads (a tiny packet was $17). How do you use them?

Thanks!

I remain convinced that it's the sour lemons that's missing. I'm tempted to buy some and send them to the OP as a gift. We have so many stores in L.A. that we have everything.

Stacy, do you got PayPal?

Hello friends!