I am going to deep-fry a turkey ..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

love2"Q"

Head Chef
i have never done this before .. should i brine it first
or will that be to much liquid in the oil .. i have searched and
can not find anything about it .. everywhere i look says to rub
and inject .. any help is appreciated ..

No need to brine it, but brining will not hurt anything. Just make sure to dry the bird well before putting it in the oil. I was not crazy about using a dry rub. It was not bad by any means, but it did get darker than I wanted. I would either inject it or add flavors to your brine.

Try doing a dry run with a chicken first to see what you like and don't like.

What GB said.

Brining helps protect a bird from drying out when you are cooking with dry heat, usually over a long period of time.

Deep-frying a turkey is a quick cook in very hot oil, so brining isn't warranted.

Patting the turkey as dry as you can get it before you lower it into the oil is VERY important, so keep that in mind after you inject.

Lee

Friend of mine does this every year. I don't believe he brines... would have to ask to be sure though.

All I can really contribute (beyond "watch your butt when you put the bird in") is "Make sure you have enough oil before starting."

First year he did the deep fried turkey bit, he didn't have enough oil. (the jug was a 3 gallon, not a 5 gallon like he figured. So we had to run around to four different stores looking for another jug of oil.

My Tip....Lower the bird into the pot. Fill with water to about 2 inches above the bird. Take the turkey out. Notice the water level, and mark it somehow (on the outside of the pot) That is how much oil you need! This must be done for each bird because of various weights.

Be Careful & Have Fun!

thanks all .. i didnt think brining was neccasary ..
uncle bob .. great idea .. thanks ..