ISO help/advice cooking a whole chicken

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jenny N

Assistant Cook
I am a newly wed and i am still learning really how to cook (even though im 30 lol) but i am baking a whole chicken for the first time tomorrow for dinner. Does anyone have seguestions on how to cook it? i am looking for something simple to start with, like a basic Recipe would be great. Thanks in advance :chef:

Depending on the chicken you have you might or may not want to add some fat. i.e. some butter or some mayo. Just rub it all over. Use the seasoning you like sprinkle all over the bird, put it on a oven rack or a bking sheet cover with foil, 400 deg for an hour, take the foil of for the last 15 minutes. Doesn't get any easier.

I know this recipe is on this site somewhere... Did you do a search for a Roast Chicken recipe?

Perfect Roast Chicken
A properly roasted chicken is so easy to prepare, and always SO delicious ­ brown, crispy skin and juicy, succulent meat. And it makes the house smell SO good!
4 to 6 servings, depending upon what you serve with it
1 free-range roasting chicken (5 to 6 pounds)
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste
2 whole heads plump fresh garlic, unpeeled, cut in half horizontally
several sprigs of fresh rosemary
several sprigs of fresh thyme
several sprigs of fresh marjoram
several sprigs of fresh lavender greens (if you can find a plant)
1 cup cold water or white wine (to baste the chicken)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Start by rinsing the chicken inside and out with cold running water. Drain it well and dry inside and out with paper towels. Make a mixture of about