Please help me with my cooking routine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crusader

Assistant Cook
Hello! Well, I just posted in the welcome forums, and basically, i have no cooking knowledge, and I am tired of microwaving food, and buying fast food :( and as a student my time and skills is limited, but i would like to learn how to cook and enojy my own food!:chef:

I need to eat healthy, less fatty foods :)

So here's my scenario I'd liek help with please:

I go to costco and buy a package of skinless legs and thighs. so what do i do from here?

1. I assume that next step, i rinse the chicken.

2. Next, i keep a couple of peices in the fridge to cook over the next 2-3 days, and package the rest in plastic bags and freeze.

3. since i dont have much pots and pans, i'd like to simmer the chicken in my pot (i tried boiling it to get the fat out, but it ends up tasting tuff :()

and finally

4. when i take out the frozen chicken, its usually 2-3 peices in a sandwich bag that i put in a bowl of water to thaw it out for a couple of hours.

p.s. i know i need a meat thermometer after reading on this site, are they at target, walmart and safeway?

thanks everyone!!

here are a couple of helpful tips, crusader:

As for the "bags", make sure you use the bags you use are designated as "freezer" bags, so you won't get freezer burn on the meat.

Rather than putting them in a bowl of water to thaw, you can take the chicken out of the freezer and thaw it in the fridge overnight. Much easier!

Yes, you can get meat thermometers nearly anywhere, and the places you suggested should all have one.