Silly question from an absolute beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

junior

Assistant Cook
When a recipe calls for "4 chicken breast halves" and I go to the store and buy a package of "boneless chicken breasts", do I need to cut them in half or are they already halves?

And they say there are no stupid questions...yeah right!

Welcome to the Board.

I haven't put too much thought into it, I am going to say 4 lobes. The Full set has been halved to make 1 breast.

The recipe is calling for 2 whole breasts, each breast cut in half. A whole breast has two distinct lobes to it with connective tissue joining them.

This is what they look like when they've been separated.

You want 4 of these.

Fresh_Frozen_Chicken_Breast.jpg

Hi, junior. The only stupid question is the one not asked :)

Here's a photo of 4 chicken breast halves:

263670502_ad2522bd81.jpg

See the straight line down the right side of the breast in the front? That indicates it has been cut in half and the bone removed (some are cut more evenly than others). Whole chicken breasts are more rounded, and include the two halves on either side of the center breast bone. HTH.

I'd have to say more often than not they come already halved. Unless I just never look for whole boneless ones.

When a recipe calls for "4 chicken breast halves" and I go to the store and buy a package of "boneless chicken breasts", do I need to cut them in half or are they already halves?

And they say there are no stupid questions...yeah right!

No! They are halved for you...either bone-in or boneless. The only time you will encounter a whole chicken breast is if you buy a whole bird.

I'd have to say more often than not they come already halved. Unless I just never look for whole boneless ones.