Trying to make chicken nuggets

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

buill

Assistant Cook
hi not sure if im in the right part of forum for this but basically im new to cooking stuff. but being single and with a daughter to feed i need to learn and i have come a long way but i am trying to master my little girls favorite "chicken nuggets" and im failing badly. the recipe i am using is for the batter is :

• 1 cup self raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup water, ice cold // not using ice cold water as i cant get it without turning it to ice?
however the pictures show the results the batter is like sand on the chicken what am i doing wrong ??
i want the batter to be crunchy like fishy shop batter not breaded batter?

should i exclude the baking soda cos it self raising flour?
should i freeze them in the batter first?
or should i just go to mcdonalds?

Attachments

• 20161210_204256.jpg
    20161210_204256.jpg
    44.2 KB · Views: 221
  • 20161210_204601.jpg
    20161210_204601.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 220
Last edited by a moderator:
It's been my experience that if you bake something in batter, it will look like your picture, but if you deep fat fry something, it will be crunchy, which I suspect they do to the fish and chips.

I think it also depends on the batter itself. I was using a dry batter for my fish and hated the results because it just fell off in the oil. So I went to using a wet batter instead - I got a batter mix from the store that has the user add water to it to make it into sort of a pancake like mix before deep fat frying. That worked much better.

I'm sure there are people here way more experienced than me who can give you some better information, though.

Welcome to DC!