Turkey and white bean soup??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jenlownie

Assistant Cook
Hi all,

I'm a newbie so I may have missed some wonderful suggestions along this line. I'm using ground turkey more and more these days, but it really needs help sometimes and I'm always on the lookout for recipes. I did a search and found a few threads - mostly stuff I have already considered /tried like meatballs/meatloaf, burgers (made some good ones recently), chili, tacos...

I'd really like to make a good white bean soup with ground turkey - second choice, black bean soup. Anybody have any simple suggestions on how I could jazz it up a little? I h ave a sort of generic recipe for bean soup - meaning, I toss in what I've got... don't really have an actual "recipe" -- beans, carrots, maybe celery, thyme, garlic sometimes.....

Obviously I could use some guidance! Thanks for any suggestions.

Jen Lownie

PS I'm probably going to be asking more questions about ground turkey - it agrees with my DH's tummy more than beef, and I think it's a much better choice anyway - so am working on using it more and more.

That's what I've been doing and it's okay but it needs something to add a little, well, spice..... not sure what. I'll probably just experiment some more but suggestions are welcome!

Jen Lownie

Jen,
is your soup creamy or is it a clear broth with the beans and turkey?