White or dark meat?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Constance

Master Chef
I fixed a simple chicken dish last night that I have been making since I was 18 years old. I used to cut up whole chickens, but in the last 20 years, I've used chicken breasts, usually bone-in, because that's what my husband likes. All the dish involves is putting chicken in a baking dish, sprinkling with pepper, and spreading a can of undiluted Golden Mushroom soup over the top. Cover and bake at 350 or so until tender. Add vegetables in with the chicken for a one dish meal.

I had been craving chicken, but yesterday when I went to the deep freeze, the first thing I came to was a bag with 3 huge leg quarters, and I didn't feel like digging deeper.
I fixed the dish the same way as usual, pretty much. I did have to use 2 cansThe potatoes cooked under the chicken, so they could soak up the juices, and about the last half hour of cooking, I added a can of drained mushrooms, and a can of drained Allen's Kentucky Wonder Beans.

Kim said it was by far the best I'd every fixed that dish. My girlfriend ate with us, and had two plates full (she's a white meat eater, also).

So, my question is this: Have any of you white meat eaters ever tried dark meat?

Last edited:
I really enjoy both white and dark. When I do a whole chicken, I start with a breast and a thigh. Never mind where I stop.

Constance said:
So, my question is this: Have any of you white meat eaters ever tried dark meat?
I used to think I hated dark chicken meat. The reason was it was occasionally undercooked, for my taste at least. Breasts get so dry and rubbery if over cooked that the cooks in my youth tended to undercook the rest of the bird.

I really enjoy the flavor that cooking with real chicken pieces give a dish, but I still cannot eat chicken thighs. I prefer breasts, but will eat a drumstick in a pinch.