Bread Crust - Help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amuenzberg

Assistant Cook
I recently aquired a sourdough starter and is has been doing well. Yesterday I baked my first loaves with it and something odd happened to the crust. When I pulled the bread from the oven, the crust was pale and very hard, but only on top. The bottom quater of the loaf was perfectly brown and crispy. I have been successfull with dry yeast in the past, but this is my first attempt at sourdough.

I proofed the loaves in reed brotfroms and misted when the loaves went into the oven and then again at 20 minutes in. These are the only places where I can think that anything when wrong. The crumb of the bread was good, and nothing out of the ordinary happened during proofing.

Can anyone provide some insight as to what might be the problem?

I don't believe it has anything to do with your yeast/sourdough starter. A pale crust but with a nice crumb, usually means the oven was not quite hot enough to brown the crust, but did cook the bread. I deal with that (depending on the kind of bread I'm baking), by brushing the bread with milk before putting it into the oven. This will produce a very pleasant brown crust with a kind of glow (reflection).

Sour Dough is sooooo good!!! Ummmm..... :chef:

here's the pictures. it is entirely possible that the oven temperature was not high enough. it is a new oven and this is the first bread i've baked in it.

Attachments

• DSC06641.JPG
    DSC06641.JPG
    127.5 KB · Views: 223
  • DSC06643.JPG
    DSC06643.JPG
    131.8 KB · Views: 211
  • DSC06642.JPG
    DSC06642.JPG
    133.8 KB · Views: 211
  • DSC06644.JPG
    DSC06644.JPG
    130.5 KB · Views: 208