Dense Homemade Bread - HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MusiGal

Assistant Cook
Every time I bake bread from scratch, it turns out very dense and heavy. Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I can do to make it lighter or is that just the way homemade bread is? I'm new to this, so I'm clueless:-p. Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

Dense bread could be caused by a lot things--are you using your oven or a bread machine? What type of flour--white, whole wheat--bread flour, or all purpose? What are you doing for rising the bread? How dependable is your oven temperature?

If you can answer this and post your recipe, I think you will probably get some help.

No, not all homemade bread is dense at all. I make lots of bread every week, and its anything but dense.

Thanks for the reply! Honestly, I'm not sure how true my oven temp is...but it hasn't mattered whether I make bread in the oven or in the Bread Machine. This particular time was in the oven using a recipe that came with the new stand mixer I got for Christmas. It tastes good, just dense. I used white, all-purpose flour as called for in the recipe below:

RAPID MIX COOL RISE WHITE BREAD

6 to 7 cups all-purpose flour 1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
2 Tbsp sugar 2 cups very warm water
3 1/2 tsp salt (120 to 130 degrees F)
3 packages active dry yeast

Place 5 1/2 cups four, sugar, salt, yeast, and butter in mixer bowl. Using dough hook, mix about 20 seconds on Speed 2. Gradually add warm water and mix about 1 1/2 minutes longer.

Continuing on Speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, and mix until dough clings to hook and cleans sides of bowl, about 2 minutes. Knead on Speed 2 about 2 minutes longer.

Cover dough with plastic wrap and a towel. Let rest 20 minutes.