"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches > Yeast Breads, Rolls & Braids

Old 04-12-2015, 10:30 PM   #1
Master Chef

French bread....?

Hi, all. I recently got brave and made powerplant's hamburger rolls , and now I have 2 envelopes of yeast left, and a lot of flour. I thought it would be fun to try making a loaf of French bread.

Does anyone have a simple tried and true recipe for this? I'd rather it not involve potato, or herbs, just something easy to try for my first time. I've looked online and there are tons, but thought I'd check here with my friends first.

I don't have to have a stone, do I? Also, I've read that misting with water in the oven occasionally, will give me that nice crust I'm hoping to get. Is this true?

Thank you in advance for any advice you can give me. Please keep in mind I'm really new at this.

Old 04-12-2015, 10:45 PM   #2
Master Chef

Oh, I meant to add this, but it's too late for me to edit....I don't have a Kitchen Aid mixer or bread maker machine. I won't mind kneading by hand like my mom and gma used to do.

Old 04-12-2015, 10:49 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Cheryl, you don't have to use the yeast right away. You can store it in your freezer for later use. I bake all our bread products and buy yeast by the pound and keep mine in a tightly-sealed glass jar in the freezer. Go thorough about 5 pounds per year.

I have a good recipe for French bread and will share it with you in the morning. I don't have it at my fingertips and it's nearly bedtime in my time zone. But, suffice it to say, it must be good because I was asked to make some for a university fundraiser last fall. In about three weeks I made 93 loaves of the stuff. You'd think I'd have the recipe memorized after that.