Help with breadsticks!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GrantsKat

Executive Chef
Hello Everyone!
Im making a fritatta for dinner and want to make bread sticks to go along with it.
Problem is some recipes call for "cake" yeast (what is that?):neutral:,then some call for milk, or shortening(which I dont have), or melted butter, theres such a variation and as you may know I have little experience baking bread!!
If I want to substitute for 1/4 cup of shortening could I use butter?
Ugh, help please!!:(

You surely don't want to listen to ANYTHING I have to say about baking - I don't bake!!!

I'd say no to the butter versus shortening. I'd also have to go to the store and buy those tubes of breadsticks :LOL: Or just grill some bread.

LOL I hear ya KE, I have 2 cans of ready made biscuits in the fridge that are calling my name:ermm:BUT I do want to give it a go by scratch first....if I fail then I have a go-to:LOL:
If at first we dont succeed......go-to, go-to, go-to the old GO-TO:ROFLMAO:

GrantsKat, you can substitute butter for the shortening if it's breadsticks that you're making-----just keep an eye on them and check them before the posted time.......products with butter tend to brown quicker than with shortening........pick one of the breadsticks up and look at the bottom....you do not need to use cake yeast......my grandma did but I use the packages of dry yeast.....work just as well......1 package should be plenty.....check the expiration date.....since you're a newbie at this you might want to try and search for making breadsticks, step by step, on Google.......you might get a step by step with pictures even or someone on DC will send you a link.......I've made them for years.........and like to butter them with a pastry brush and then sprinkle either sesame seeds or black nigella seeds before popping into the oven.....good luck :)

Thanks expatgirl!!