"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches > Yeast Breads, Rolls & Braids

Old 11-19-2011, 04:10 PM   #1
Cook

Hoagie rolls

Around here we call them sub rolls but hoagie rolls seems to be what the "universal" term is. I am fairly new to breadmaking and have been working on my rolls. Sandwich or burger style rolls aren't too bad, flattening, folding, then rolling/shaping into round balls. But I can't seem to make a long roll, like one for a hot dog, sausage, or hoagie. I try to roll the dough between my hands to stretch it out and I think I am working it too much. But then when I get the dough into a log shape and let it sit to rise, they shrink back down into ovals, much wider in the middle than at the end and any hot dog or sausage hangs out of both ends!

I have been looking for videos on good hoagie-making technique but haven't found one yet. Maybe someone here has seen one or can describe the proper technique to make a hoagie-style roll? TY!

Old 11-19-2011, 06:11 PM   #2
Senior Cook

They work best when baked in the right pans

Chicago Metallic Uni-Lock™ Baguette / French Bread Loaf Pan 49036 | Bread Pans - Wasserstrom Restaurant Supply

Old 11-19-2011, 06:41 PM   #3
Cook

I might consider getting something like that. But what is the proper method to take a ball of dough and elongate it into the proper hoagie shape?
Old 02-18-2012, 11:47 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

I am also getting into making hoagie rolls. I now make decent dinner rolls, and need a good sandwich roll. There may be good information online from Reinhart's bread book. I believe you make a rectangle, then fold and pinch the seams, and finally roll it tapering the ends, similar to making a baguette. Then you may want them to proof in the above mentioned pan.
Old 02-18-2012, 11:52 PM   #5
The Dude Abides

Send a message via AIM to TATTRAT Send a message via Yahoo to TATTRAT Send a message via Skype™ to TATTRAT