Homemade gluten for bread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Raquels Cocina

Assistant Cook
Hello!

I am an avid baker who recently moved to Mexico from Colorado. I love our life in Mexico however I am having a terrible time finding any type of high gluten bread flour. The only flour in the local stores is a lower gluten variety made for pastries. I have looked everywhere for any type of gluten and now I am desperate enough to try to make gluten at home to add to my bread dough. I have done on-line searches and I see that there is an Asian dish where you rinse bread flour several times until it is reduced to a blob of gluten and then for the Asian dish you deep fry it. What I'm wondering is whether I could use this same method and simply add the ball of gluten to my bread dough. Does anyone have any information on this? Also, does anyone know of how to find bread flours or vital wheat gluten in Mexico??? Help.....:chef:

Most supermarkets carry "Bread Flour" which is high gluten flour. Health food stores also carry straight wheat gluten which is used to add to specialty flour such as rye or whole wheat. You should be able to find both items within an easy drive from your home.

Hello Selkie, Yes, most supermarkets carry bread flour in the states but I am living in Southern Mexico and that is simply not the case. I'm hoping to find a source of gluten here in Mexico or to learn how to make it myself from flour that I buy in the store.
Thanks for the suggestion Bill, I will use ordering from the States as a last resort. It gets very expensive with dutie fees and shipping. Also, we live in a rural area without a physical address! (It's always an adventure!) So it's a lot more complicated than it was in Colorado when I could get onto Amazon and order anything with just a simple "click". Keep the answers coming though. I really appreciate any advice! Thanks!!!