"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches > Yeast Breads, Rolls & Braids
Old 08-19-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
Homemade gluten for bread

I am an avid baker who recently moved to Mexico from Colorado. I love our life in Mexico however I am having a terrible time finding any type of high gluten bread flour. The only flour in the local stores is a lower gluten variety made for pastries. I have looked everywhere for any type of gluten and now I am desperate enough to try to make gluten at home to add to my bread dough. I have done on-line searches and I see that there is an Asian dish where you rinse bread flour several times until it is reduced to a blob of gluten and then for the Asian dish you deep fry it. What I'm wondering is whether I could use this same method and simply add the ball of gluten to my bread dough. Does anyone have any information on this? Also, does anyone know of how to find bread flours or vital wheat gluten in Mexico??? Help.....

Raquels Cocina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:00 PM   #2
Executive Chef
Most supermarkets carry "Bread Flour" which is high gluten flour. Health food stores also carry straight wheat gluten which is used to add to specialty flour such as rye or whole wheat. You should be able to find both items within an easy drive from your home.

"Food is our common ground, a universal experience." - James Beard
Selkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 01:22 AM   #3
Executive Chef
Can you mail order from the states?
Vital Wheat Gluten - 16 oz.
justplainbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:10 AM   #4
Assistant Cook
Hello Selkie, Yes, most supermarkets carry bread flour in the states but I am living in Southern Mexico and that is simply not the case. I'm hoping to find a source of gluten here in Mexico or to learn how to make it myself from flour that I buy in the store.