"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches > Yeast Breads, Rolls & Braids

Old 03-12-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
Senior Cook

Recipes With Interesting Origins

I loved Chief Longwind of the North's recipe for the Potato rolls that I made positively the most delicious loaves of bread from. I am just beginning to scratch the surface with yeast and I love love LOVE recipes with a history. I really would like to learn different loaf bread recipes. Perhaps a sourdough, a whole wheat or pumpernickle bread (like the ones from Outback Steakhouse), or a Hawaiian bread recipe. I have a white loaf recipe that I know works because my friend does it well; however I do not. Mine is a little dry & doesn't rise well or falls like a cake. I can do that potato bread recipe very well and it turns out so good that it's all I want to make. I would like to be able to make other things & LOVE recipes with a history. I can also make decent cinnamon raisin rolls. Those type recipes welcome also. Anybody care to share?

Old 03-12-2012, 07:21 PM   #2
Master Chef

Try Anadama bread. It is a yeast bread with cornmeal and molasses. The story goes that the wife of an old fisherman made it and he did not approve. He was supposed to have said Anna, damn her! Google for a recipe, it has many variations.

Old 03-12-2012, 08:15 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

reuben's have an interesting story to them.

so does salt wster taffy. i've ben in atlantic city, nj and santa barbara, california and both claim to have invented it. at least both use the same story about being out of water so they used readily available sea water, hence the name.
waiting for someone or something to show you the way.
buckytom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:36 PM   #4
Head Chef

I don't know that this is exactly what you had in mind, but it always makes my mouth water.

Langos (Hungarian Pizza)