"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches > Quick Breads, Muffins & Biscuits

Old 08-18-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
Cook

Julia's White Bread

I am the first to admit that I am new to baking & cooking and numerous opportunities for poor recipe interpretation and execution exist. This time it is with a white bread recipe posted as being from Julia Child. My finished product was soft and edible. The loaves were visually appealing in that they were without voids/holes. They even tasted good and did not have the ‘sweet and yeasty’ taste some homemade recipes do. My problem was with the physical weight of the loaves. What might I have done incorrectly to produce loaves that were significantly heavier than store bought? Can homemade bread be made to mimic commercial loaves?

Thanks

Old 08-18-2011, 10:51 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

I see your heavier loaves as a good thing unless you're trying to duplicate Wonder Bread. Bread should have substance and weight. Did you get the rise you were expecting? How did it taste?

Old 08-18-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
Cook

Quote:
Bread should have substance and weight.
This batch had both. When removed from the oven I could not tell if bread or boat anchors had been produced.
Quote:
Did you get the rise you were expecting?
It did rise to a noticable degree, but did not double as the recipe said to expect.
Quote:
How did it taste?
It tasted fine without the sweet and yeasty taste of other homemade breads I have tasted.
Old 08-18-2011, 01:13 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef

Did you follow the recipe or make adjustments/substitutions?

I gather from your response that it didn't rise enough and was too dense for your liking. So a slice of this bread wasn't as tall as a store bought?
Old 08-18-2011, 02:08 PM   #5
Cook