Julia's White Bread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JuanaCook

Cook
I am the first to admit that I am new to baking & cooking and numerous opportunities for poor recipe interpretation and execution exist. This time it is with a white bread recipe posted as being from Julia Child. My finished product was soft and edible. The loaves were visually appealing in that they were without voids/holes. They even tasted good and did not have the ‘sweet and yeasty’ taste some homemade recipes do. My problem was with the physical weight of the loaves. What might I have done incorrectly to produce loaves that were significantly heavier than store bought? Can homemade bread be made to mimic commercial loaves?

Thanks

I see your heavier loaves as a good thing unless you're trying to duplicate Wonder Bread. Bread should have substance and weight. Did you get the rise you were expecting? How did it taste?

Bread should have substance and weight.
This batch had both. When removed from the oven I could not tell if bread or boat anchors had been produced.
Did you get the rise you were expecting?
It did rise to a noticable degree, but did not double as the recipe said to expect.
How did it taste?
It tasted fine without the sweet and yeasty taste of other homemade breads I have tasted.

Did you follow the recipe or make adjustments/substitutions?

I gather from your response that it didn't rise enough and was too dense for your liking. So a slice of this bread wasn't as tall as a store bought?