Maple Filling for Muffins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vermin8

Cook
I'm a beginning cook so if this sounds completely stupid please tell me...

I would like to try making whole wheat muffins with a maple flavored filling.
What would be the base of the filling? I was thinking of using a glaze, which is confectioner's sugar and maple syrup but I'm not sure it will bake well. I've seen that cream cheese is a popular filling for muffins. Is there anything else I could use?

Holy cow I hope someone helps you because I started to drool as soon as I read this. Yikes.

Well, I am not an expert baker, but I would bake the muffins, then pipe in the filling from a pastry bag once they are cool.

I do like the idea of a cream cheese base. Are you going to use maple flavoring or maple syrup?

Here's a recipe for maple flavored frosting. Depending on how many muffins you are making, you might want to cut this recipe in half, since it's for a layer cake. And if you use maple flavoring instead of syrup, use a LOT less. Like, 1 teaspoon, maybe?

Lee

Maple Frosting:

Two (8-ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups confectioners' sugar
1/4 cup
shim.gif
pure maple syrup

OMG!!!!!!!!!!
In the words of BuckyTom and Homer, MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Attachments

• drooling_homer_2.gif
    drooling_homer_2.gif
    18.7 KB · Views: 227
Thanks, Everyone!

DH loves maple so I decided to try a tasty recipe. Not that I don't love maple syrup too:rolleyes:

I planned on using syrup since we always have some in a cupboard.
Where do I get a pastry bag? I might try both ways to see how they come out.
Could I substitute brown sugar for confectioner's sugar or is the confectioner's sugar for texture?

Texasgirl, DH often goes "Homer" when he sees something he likes...let's see if I can reproduce the effect :)