My favorite banana bread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LEFSElover

Executive Chef
Being a collector of cookbooks, this one I've had for a hundred years. It's called The Happy Cook. It seems to be one of those Chamber of Commerce type cookbooks.
This recipe is from a lady who's last name is Allsgood.
I just noticed her name and think it's appropo for this wonderful easy tasty banana bread that I've been making for about 30 years.

A client of mine wanted to borrow a cookbook to get ideas for appetizers for a party she was soon to have. She mentioned this while I was cutting her hair one day. I'd remembered several good sounding appetizers/tappa's from reading this one over and over so I told her if she promised not to lose it, I'd let her borrow it [for a couple of days] to check out those recipes. She had it for months, literally months. It's the very cookbook this banana bread recipe lives in. I was panicked, called her [again] asking for it, and told her " I was coming to her house toda , to get it". That's just what I did, never lent a cookbook again.

I do deviate from it a bit as my love doesn't care for nuts and the sugar called for is too much so I lessen that too, plus as you'll see, it calls for margarine but I use oil, don't like the consistency of margarine but do use same amount of canola oil. Today, I tossed in 2 T corn meal, just "because" I could...
But it's otherwise as follows:

Banana Bread
1 loaf pan, buttered and cinnamoned sugared.
350 oven 40 minutes

1/2 cup margarine
1 t soda
1 t baking powder
pinch salt
1 c sugar
1/2 c chopped nuts
1 1/2 c flour
2 eggs
3-4 mashed ripe bananas

Mix marg/eggs/sugar/then add dry ingreds that you've sifted together. Mix in your mixer, then add your bananas and nuts. Pour into a prepared loaf pan [after I butter the loaf, I put cinnamon sugar in there and toss it around.