Cooking Pizza in a Fan Assisted Electric Oven

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

creative

Head Chef
A friend of mine has an electric fan assisted oven and is having problems cooking a pizza without the outer crust going very hard or it burning. He places it on the central shelf. I have no knowledge of these kind of ovens so am asking here on his behalf.

Someone said that you have to keep turning the pizza...which sounds a bit ridiculous given that it is only for 7 mins or so and a fan assisted oven is supposed to provide even heat!

Does someone know how to cook pizza in this kind of oven without burning the edges?

A little help.

Does he use a pan or a stone? What temperature is the oven set to? Is it a thick or thin crust pizza?

He uses a baking tray and bakes it at the required temp i.e. it is bought pizza. Not sure if it is thick or thin crust - will ask him.

I guess someone who uses this kind of oven and buys bought pizza will have a similar experience and so be able to be of assistance.

Lots of recipes call for a slightly lower temperature in a fan assisted oven. Couldn't he just turn off that option. I can on my toaster oven.

We call that a convection oven. Mine can be set to regular or convection; I usually forget about that option, but most recipes I've seen say to lower the temperature by 25F. Or check it a few minutes sooner than the directions say and see if it's ready. If the cheese is bubbling, and the crust is browned, it's done. If not, check again in a few more minutes.

Last edited:
Yes he is thinking of not using the fan device. He says he DOES keep checking it! I guess a pizza can turn from brown to black pretty damn fast!

It can when the temperature is really high, which it often is for pizza. He could also get an oven thermometer to make sure the oven isn't running too hot.