Cleaning Fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PrincessinAK

Assistant Cook
Help! Does anyone have any tips they can share on how to properly clean and easily debone salmon?

Edited to add I found a great guide in my Joy of cooking book shoulda looked there first before mutilating the first couple fishies, my fi'llets are looking great now! I love joy of cooking :0)

Last edited:
That is great that you figured it out :)
I have never done it before, but I am sure I would destroy the first few ones that I attempt LOL.

sorry.. no help here. I'll put the worm on and I'll fish all day.. but, once the wiggly thing is off the hook hubby has to come take over.
I love sushi but, other raw fish grosses me out.

That's cool that you found a way to do it because it's hard to explain w/o pics.
Just outta curiosity though, what method did it give you?

Lastly, i use this to get the bones out------\/
gs_29.jpg

Fish bone tweezers:mrgreen: My wife bought it for me as a joke, but they really do work with minimal effort!:ROFLMAO:

BBQ Fish~ You're absolutly right, it would be hard to explain w/o pics. Those tweezers look great I have been using my fingers. :0)

I use a needle nosed pliers- very handy, at least on the bigger fishies! My salmon cleaning experience is limited to the sides of salmon I've used in restaurants. All that's left to do with them is skin 'em and pluck out the pin bones.

Princess- How are you able to do that with your fingers? Maybe because i have bigger hands, or (what my friends call) "Musician Meat Hooks" i can't seem to grab the pin bones.:mrgreen:

The tweezers give a good amount of leverage though, because it allows you to rest your hand on, or very near to the fillet, letting you pluck, insted of pull the bones out.