Cooking clams at home?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
i'm getting ready to clean and debeard a couple lbs. of mussels. it is my first time. i came across a helpful cleaning hint online that has me even further confused: one commenter says, 'add some cornmeal to the water of the first soaking'. WTH? this is the first i'm hearing about a second (or third?) soaking for shellfish. and them beards and barnicles are pretty scary looking too....

Last edited:
Those inexpensive mahogany clams are back in the grocery flyer!

I am still a little nervous about giving them a try and I have a couple of questions.

First how far in advance can I buy them and keep them in the refrigerator.

Second on this purging business, will it work if I put them in a Pyrex 9x13 baking pan with some salt water and a damp dish towel tossed over them or do they need to be in a deeper container, similar to the ocean. :ermm::ohmy::LOL:

You can buy them one day in advance; keep them on ice in the fridge.

Ask at the seafood counter whether they need purging; it's often already done. If you need to do it, I'd use a mixing bowl. They should be completely submerged. No need to cover them. Let them sit for about 30 minutes and they will be ready to cook.

At least the clams are clean shaven! :ermm::ohmy::LOL:

Everything I have read talks about one soaking, some say a sprinkling of corn meal some don't.

Good luck, make sure you give us a full report!

You can buy them one day in advance; keep them on ice in the fridge.

Ask at the seafood counter whether they need purging; it's often already done. If you need to do it, I'd use a mixing bowl. They should be completely submerged. No need to cover them. Let them sit for about 30 minutes and they will be ready to cook.