Help on polluck fillets

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Constance

Master Chef
I bought some nice looking frozen pollack fillets the other day, and they're on the menu for tomorrow night. It's too cold out to grill, so I figure we're going to poach or pan sear.
I have no experience with pollack. I did a search, and found that it's similar to cod. Do any of you have any suggestions for a healthy way to prepare it?

Pollock is indeed a mild, delicate fish with white flesh. For health and flavor, might I suggest that you broil the fillets about 2 inches under the broiler for approximately 4 minutes.

To prepare the fish, spray your favorite broiling pan with a light coating of cooking spray. Lay the fish, skin-side down, on the pan. Lightly salt, then sprinkle with a light coating of Itallian Seasoned Bread Crumbs and a pinch of Dill Weed. Place under the broiler and boil one-side only, until the top just begins to show some color and the flesh turns white. Serve with lemon wedges and a leafy tossed salad, maybe sprinkled with freshly grated Parmesano Regiano, or Gruyere.

An alternate method is to poach the fillet's in a bit of garlic-dill juice from a jar of dill pickles. It really tastes great, no kidding.

Beverage, my first pick is always milk. I'm just a big kid at heart.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Thanks for the help, y'all.
I'm with you on the milk, GW...I drink milk (skim) with all my meals. I'm always saving pickle juice, which my husband thinks is insane, but you never know when it's going to come in handy. Would you add anything else to it when using as a poaching liquid?

Last edited:
Constance said:
Thanks for the help, y'all.