Imitation crab meal idea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

debbie24

Senior Cook
i have some imitation crab that i would like to use up. hubby is not a salad person so thats kind of out. i was thinking pasta. any suggestions? i'm new to cooking so any help will be appreciated. i saw a few recipes for alfredo but i dont have any cream cheese in the house right now or parmesan cheese. so sorry if this is a tough one. thanks

You can make a cream sauce that isn't alfredo. All you need is some cream and some hard cheese.

Saute some garlic in butter, add heavy cream and reduce to thicken. Turn off the heat and stir in the cheese. Add in the surimi (fake crab) and toss with pasta.

Add in some peas, chopped onions, chopped bell pepper to Andy's directions and you can make it go farther.

toss it in some cream of celery soup (if condensed mix with milk or cream instead of water) and add some salt/pepper and old bay...instant cream of crab soup!!

If you don't have any cream on hand, you can make a white sauce that will taste just as rich and good. In a large skillet, sweat your garlic in two tbls of butter, stir in 2 tbls flour, then whisk in 2 cups of milk and cook on medium heating, stirring, until sauce is thickened. You can add cheese to the sauce or not. Season the sauce to taste...I like to use a little Old Bay Seasoning, but you could stick with the classic grating of nutmeg if you like. Stir in your crab, and maybe some pimentoes and a few frozen peas. Then add your cooked noodles. Turn into pasta bowl and sprinkle with cheese of your choice.
I do it this way all the time, and we actually prefer it, because it's not so heavy as a real Alfredo.

Last edited:
I use it in pasta all the time - in fact, it's one of my husband's favorite pasta dishes.