Mussel Provencal (Cooked on a gueridon)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nz_beefcake

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am a student that has been asked to come up with a recipe to be cooked on a gueridon trolley. I came here to ask for help with a few details and help with the provencal sauce. I have to say first off that I am training as Front of House so I have a very limited knowledge of cooking and cooking terminology so please be gentle.

I would like to create an mussel entree and as it is on a gueridon it is it will require a little flair, and I would also like for muscadet to be a food pairing for the dish. Here is a brief outline of the dish (as it stands thus far).

Create a provencal sauce for the dish
Prepare Mussels (to be opened at the table)

Sautee finely chopped fennel bulbs
Open mussels in front of customers
Add mussels and season with salt and pepper
Flame with pernod and sautee

on a second burner toast costini

Tong mussels into a bowl and cover with provencal sauce, arrange the costini on top. Garnish with fennel.

Please help because as you can see I don't really know what I am doing!

Last edited:
Please be gentle with us...some of us are Americans and have no idea what a gueridon is...

Welcome to DC, have fun and remember to play with your food.

I thought it was some kind of cooking device too :ermm: Nope.

Perhaps cook on an outside grill and serve on one of these pretty tables?