Smelly Cod

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scott-180

Assistant Cook
hi everyone,

Im very new to cooking but really trying to throw myself into it. I recently bought some cod which I shallow fried in butter before baking it in the oven. It turned out pretty well but my whole apartment smelled really badly of fish.

I thought that cod was not supposed to be a smelly fish so i was surprised. I bought it pre-packed from the super market and not from a fish monger. Could this be the problem or does all cod smell like this?

any help would be greatly appreciated!

I haven't cooked cod often, but in general, when fish is overcooked, it smells very fishy. It doesn't take long at all to cook fish. How did you cook it and for how long?

I haven't cooked cod often, but in general, when fish is overcooked, it smells very fishy. It doesn't take long at all to cook fish. How did you cook it and for how long?

not very long, maybe a couple minutes just to sear it.

To be honest, it smelled really strong as soon as i opened the packet

There you have it Scott. It was bad to start. Fresh fish should smell like the sea.

Ditto what K said.

Having been married to a commercial fisherman, he often brought home fish from the last catch before tying up to unload in port. The fish, regardless of what type, cod, haddock, etc. always smelled of salt water. You should have brought it back with wrapper to the store.

BTW, don't shop there anymore. Evidently, they don't take pride in their products and are willing to compromise the health and well being.

thanks Addie and K,

Looks like you both live near the cost so you obviously know what you are talking about! I won't shop there anymore. It's sometimes just too convenient to just grab something from a supermarket shelf.