Smoked oyster recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TomJonze

Assistant Cook
i was listening to Splendid Table the other day and in one section someone suggested using the oil from smoked oysters in a pasta sauce. I think that sounds great but maybe a lil strong. any ideas/suggestions? also, i have a TON of mushrooms (shiitakes and another kind i can't remember) and was thinking that i could include some mushrooms in this.

this is my first post and i just signed up. i am fairly new to cooking as my family are midwestern, overcooked meat, basic boring eaters and i've found that i LOVE food and cooking. hopefully i start posting here quite often! :chef:

Welcome!
You might want to try a mix of olive oil and smoked oyster oil until you get the taste you want. You could saute the mushrooms in olive oil and drizzle with a bit of the oyster oil. Add some red pepper flakes, a bit of garlic to the saute, sprinkle with fresh parsley.

Welcome! Yeah add the oil in increments.
And if those mushrooms are dried.. save the water you soak them in!
It is a fantastic mushroom stock!

naw, they are fresh mushrooms but thanks for the future tip!

i was wondering about how sesame oil and the smokey oysters/oil might play off each other. anyone got any thoughts on that?

It could be really strong, so use it drop by drop, and taste it.

Although I usually drizzle that oil from the smoked oyster can onto my cats' dry food - lol - I admit that the idea of incorporating it into pasta sounds intriguing & one I'm now thinking of trying.