Smoked Salmon in a smoker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bam!!

Cook
Hi all!

I am a newbie... :D ...Let's get cookin!

So...I do a smoked salmon with hickory wood chips......and I place the salmon on a smoking cedar plank on the gas grill....

I have a dry rub bought from Sonoma Williams that has corriander flat leaf parsley chilis paprika garlic powder.....I add Dill and Sweet Hungarian Paprika to it....

Was wondering though....

I bought a smoker....

What would it do if I just smoked it for 4 hours at 200 degrees ?

I like it rare inside...

Thanks guys!

:D

Just be patient Bam! Things get a little slow during the week when everyone is working. I don't know anything about smoking meat and fish, so I can't answer your question, but someone is sure to know. Check around--you might even find the answer in an older post.

:) Barbara

Sometimes it just takes time to get an answer LOL

I like my salmon rare too - but with smoking you won't get rare but you WILL get good!

BRINE: 2 1/2 tablespoons plain salt (without iodine) to 1 cup water

2 large salmon fillets
Zest and juice of 2 to 3 limes
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves*
1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
1 teaspoon coarse Kosher or coarse sea salt**
1 to 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (depending on size of fillets)
1 lime for finish
Coarse salt

*I use whatever fresh herbs that I have at the moment. I've also used lavender and it was great!

** The coarse salt is fabulous on the salmon.