Suggestions for red snapper fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

naturalmovements

Assistant Cook
greetings! from a deep sea fishing trip, i have a few pounds of red snapper that i would like to prepare tomorrow, im new to cooking in general and ive never prepared fish...

never tasted red snapper before so i have no idea on flavor, prep, method etc. , if anyone has any advice, id like to listen and learn, thank you!

Snapper is even good raw! Its a heavier, oilier type of fish. I like it in ceviche myself (doused with lemon juice, the acid "cooks" the fish a bit) but if you wish to cook it, a light breading will suffice. I've done it with grated potato as the outside too. Since its heavy it stands up well to that.

Your fish is so fresh, you should really just do something light and simple to keep the fresh flavor. How about a light pan fry with some butter and garlic and sprinkle with some salt to finish?

greetings! from a deep sea fishing trip, i have a few pounds of red snapper that i would like to prepare tomorrow, im new to cooking in general and ive never prepared fish...

never tasted red snapper before so i have no idea on flavor, prep, method etc. , if anyone has any advice, id like to listen and learn, thank you!

Greetings from a Greek girl who loves plain cooking!

Red snapper I just love. But I grill it, always over fire. Simply slash the fish diagonally, brush olive oil over it, place down on the grill and - here it is.

Sprinkle chopped flat leaf parsley over it, and garnish with a fresh lemon cut in half. And that's it.

Red snapper is a highly desirable fish. In the shops it's expensive and in tavernas classed "A": 40 euros a pound (minimum)

Picture by a family member

Last edited: