"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets > Gluten Free

Old 01-27-2009, 03:00 PM   #1
Cook

Anyone Gluten Free?

Hello, I'm new to this forum and I've been cooking for special diets for more than 20 years. Several years ago I found out my health issues were due to a misdiagnosis - I have celiac disease - so now the whole family is gluten free. Well they are GF for all meals eaten in the house anyway!

Stacy
NY, NY

Old 09-07-2016, 02:01 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

I do not think that only the one suffering from the disease should go on gluten free diet.
Gluten free diet can bring several health benefits only we have to be sure to consume a balanced diet. And if you are planning to go on gluten free diet say goodbye to most of the junk food!

Old 09-07-2016, 02:16 PM   #3
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamabigailnaylor View Post
I do not think that only the one suffering from the disease should go on gluten free diet.
Gluten free diet can bring several health benefits only we have to be sure to consume a balanced diet. And if you are planning to go on gluten free diet say goodbye to most of the junk food!
Although this thread is 7 1/2 years old, I think that the choice to go gluten free would be up to the individual not suffering from a disease and not dictated by the one with the disease. That would be the same as dictating a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle on a carnivore. IMO, bad plan.
Old 09-07-2016, 04:57 PM   #4
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigC View Post
Although this thread is 7 1/2 years old, I think that the choice to go gluten free would be up to the individual not suffering from a disease and not dictated by the one with the disease. That would be the same as dictating a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle on a carnivore. IMO, bad plan.