Anyone Gluten Free?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hello, I'm new to this forum and I've been cooking for special diets for more than 20 years. Several years ago I found out my health issues were due to a misdiagnosis - I have celiac disease - so now the whole family is gluten free. Well they are GF for all meals eaten in the house anyway!

Stacy
NY, NY

I do not think that only the one suffering from the disease should go on gluten free diet.
Gluten free diet can bring several health benefits only we have to be sure to consume a balanced diet. And if you are planning to go on gluten free diet say goodbye to most of the junk food!

I do not think that only the one suffering from the disease should go on gluten free diet.
Gluten free diet can bring several health benefits only we have to be sure to consume a balanced diet. And if you are planning to go on gluten free diet say goodbye to most of the junk food!

Although this thread is 7 1/2 years old, I think that the choice to go gluten free would be up to the individual not suffering from a disease and not dictated by the one with the disease. That would be the same as dictating a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle on a carnivore. IMO, bad plan.

Although this thread is 7 1/2 years old, I think that the choice to go gluten free would be up to the individual not suffering from a disease and not dictated by the one with the disease. That would be the same as dictating a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle on a carnivore. IMO, bad plan.

I'd agree with that up to a point Craig. As most know, I've limited my diet to under 50g of carbs per day, but I have generally made sure my SC has his carbs with meals, if he wants them. That's not to say I'll make him something like Pizza or noodle casseroles, not to mention desserts, and watch him eat it. :LOL:

img_1479002_0_4a111f2016e203fc740215eb72af343e.png