Both Gluten AND Sulfite Free Recipes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

foodvaccuum

Assistant Cook
So...I'm a little new to this food allergy business. This has been a sudden and very annoying, new situation for me and I admit to pathetic cooking skills.

Any help out there? Even brand-name substance food items that wont make me keel over? Recipes? Suggestions?

My only local food store is Safeway which does not exactly cater to digestively challenged individuals such as myself.

Any knowledge is greatly appreciated! :chef:

I'm not 100% sure what sufite is ( honestly, i just googled it and i still don't get it :S ) but the gluten free thing is quite challenging.

There are several food ranges, which i'm sure you know about, who sell gluten free products and unfortunately you just need read the labels of EVERYTHING. I have IBS and have to stay away from a lot of wheat products. Not quite gluten intolerant but close enough for it to be annoying and frustrating.

I'd suggest you talk to your friends about your gluten intolerance - it's quite common these days for some strange reason and surely they can put you into contact with someone going through the same thing. It's also nice for your friends to know so they can be aware of what you can and can't eat in case they invite you over for dinner.

In AU we have a few brands that are gluten free and they have ranges of bread, cereal, snack foods etc. i can't remember the brand and i doubt it'd be in the US but i'm sure someone here knows.

After my first chat to the gastro about IBS, i drove around to all the health food shops in the city and found a lot of those stores carry a lot of gluten free/wheat free/dairy free/you name it free products. The staff are generally very well trained and quite helpful too.