"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets > Gluten Free
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2008, 02:37 PM   #1
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,102
Is This Product Gluten Free?

It has: Rice meal, sesame seeds, sesame flour, safflower oil, tamari soy sauce powder, corn, salt, and garlic.

My boss is going gluton free and she wanted me to pick up some snacks for her from Trader Joe's. Did I hit or miss the mark?

__________________

__________________
Callisto in NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:12 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,370
The package ingredients often list specific ingredients that may be allergens.

e.g. Contains, wheat, nuts, etc.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:14 PM   #3
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,102
Andy that doesn't answer the question. It's from Trader Joe's and those are the only ingredients listed.
__________________
Callisto in NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:16 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Callisto in NC View Post
Andy that doesn't answer the question. It's from Trader Joe's and those are the only ingredients listed.

I don't know the answer for all your ingredients. I was just trying to be helpful

In this situation, I would either contact Trader Joe's or use google to help me out one ingredient at a time.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:18 PM   #5
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
use google to help me out one ingredient at a time.
I tried that, but it didn't work that's why I asked here. I'm sure there are people here living the gluton free lifestyle that would know based on the ingredient list.
__________________
Callisto in NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:49 PM   #6
Sous Chef
 
B'sgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 863
The only ingredient I see in question is the soy sauce powder. Some soy sauces are made with wheat and some are not. But if it has wheat the company is required to list it in the ingredients, so as far as I can tell it is gluten free and I would feel comfortable giving it to my son. What is it anyway, crackers? Snack bar?

Hints for the future--there can be hidden gluten in carmel color and MSG and they won't be listed because they aren't made from wheat. Also watch out for anything with malt, and some salad dressings are made from barley vinegars and barley is not required to be specified.

Hope that helps!
__________________
Michelle
http://foodmakeshimsick.blogspot.com/

B'sgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:18 PM   #7
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,102
Thanks B'sGirl. The product is crackers. We're looking for gluten free crackers and these don't list any flour other than the sesame flour. We want them to go with our cheese and salami we have as snacks at the Renaissance Faire.
__________________
Callisto in NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 05:26 PM   #8
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Callisto - I am sure it was not Andy M.'s intent to be contentious or facetious in his questions/comments. Not knowing the brand name, marketing name or what the product is makes it a little hard to dive a definitive answer to some questions. There is sometime more information on the product laabel or its information label ... I'm sure that is what Andy was trying to say.

Anyway - this might be gluten free. The question is the "tamari soy sauce powder" which can either be made with little or no wheat - the ingredients you listed are not specific.

If your boss has just decided to go gluten free for some elective reason then it shouldn't matter either way. If it is for "medical" reasons it might. You would have to contact the people who make the crackers to find out for sure. Unless the package specifically states "gluten free" you can't just assume it is.
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:18 PM   #9
Sous Chef
 
B'sgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael in FtW View Post
Callisto - I am sure it was not Andy M.'s intent to be contentious or facetious in his questions/comments. Not knowing the brand name, marketing name or what the product is makes it a little hard to dive a definitive answer to some questions. There is sometime more information on the product laabel or its information label ... I'm sure that is what Andy was trying to say.

Anyway - this might be gluten free. The question is the "tamari soy sauce powder" which can either be made with little or no wheat - the ingredients you listed are not specific.

If your boss has just decided to go gluten free for some elective reason then it shouldn't matter either way. If it is for "medical" reasons it might. You would have to contact the people who make the crackers to find out for sure. Unless the package specifically states "gluten free" you can't just assume it is.

Actually, if the soy sauce was made with wheat, even a small amount, it would be required to be listed on the label, in the United States anyway. And they would list it too because they'd be in for a nasty law suit if someone had an allergic reaction and died from it.

Also, even if the product says gluten free, it isn't necessarily true. I recently bought a package of "gluten-free" animal crackers that turned out to be wheat free, but not gluten free. Always read the ingredient list even if it says gluten-free.
__________________

__________________
Michelle
http://foodmakeshimsick.blogspot.com/

B'sgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.