Appetizer help needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Janet H

Certifiable Executive Chef
Staff member
I need some ideas and am coming up empty - I'm hoping to leverage the collective DC wisdom to preserve my reputation...

In a week or so I will be camping with 60 folks who have been told that I am a fantastic cook - they actually printed this in the event brochure. At this bash there is an appetizer "potluck" where everyone brings something delicious to share and has a meet and greet social hour. I am coming up empty on ideas...

Here are the prep and service limitations:

I will have limited cooking facilities (in a tiny trailer trailer) but will have a fridge, stove and oven (all tiny). It will be hot - maybe as much as 100 degrees so I don't want to bake anything. I will have a limited amount of time to prep, in other words, I don't want to spend all afternoon making something.

I'll have to hand carry the delicious platter of __________ 1/4 mile to the event and once there, will have no refrigeration.

Some items are off limits: Shellfish (very allergic), anything highly perishable or hard to eat, prepared items like hummus and chips (there will be LOTS of that kind of stuff) or anything too "out there".

I need the appetizer to be beautiful, delicious and somewhat filling as there is no dinner planned after. Got any ideas?

If money is not an issue I would do a beef tenderloin on the grill and make some little sliders. Offer a variety of sauces and serve the beef on small potato rolls.

Maybe a fresh cold gazpacho shooter with some nice peppery vodka added at serving time.

Last edited:
Geez, talk about setting the bar high for you, Janet! :LOL: included in the brochure :LOL:

Ceviche would be good. Fruit skewers with some kind of "special" dip/sauce/drizzle? Spicy or sweet nut mix, chocolate drizzled peanut or nut brittle. Mini quiches.

Last edited: